1911 Organ

In 1911 Messrs. Scovell & Co. of Edinburgh were commissioned to build a four manual and pedal instrument. This was to incorporate some of the flue work and the case from the former organ. It is known from reports that the tone of this new organ was distinctly warm and cohesive. The Swell chorus reeds possessed considerable splash and drive and the downward extension of the Pedal Open Wood to 32″ added considerable grandeur to the ensemble.

The Organ of Dunfermline Abbey 1911
Scovell & Co. Edinburgh

Pedal Organ Great Organ
32 Double Open Diapason
16 Open Diapason
16 Violone
16 Bourdon
8 Principal
8 Violoncello
8 Bass Flute
16 Bass Tuba 
16 Double Open Diapason
8 Diapason Phonon
8 Open Diapason
8 Clarabella
8 Salicional
4 Principal
4 Harmonic Flute
22/3 Twelfth
2 Fifteenth
8 Tromba
Swell Organ (enclosed) Choir Organ (enclosed)
16 Bourdon
8 Open Diapason
8 Stopt Flute
8 Viola
8 Gamba
8 Voix Celeste (tc)
4 Octave Viola
4 Octave Flute
2 Fifteenth
III Mixture 15.19.22
16 Contra Fagotto
8 Horn
8 Oboe
4 Clarion
8 Open Diapason
8 Dulciana
8 Harmonic Flute
8 Viol d’Orchestre
4 Flauto Traverso
2 Harmonic Piccolo
8 Corno di Bassetto


Solo Organ (enclosed) Couplers
8 Concert Flute
4 Wald Flute
8 Orchestral Oboe
8 Vox Humana
8 Tuba (unenclosed)
(Tuba pipework by J Lewis) 
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
Choir to Pedal
Solo to Pedal
Swell to Great
Choir to Great
Solo to Great
Swell to Choir
Swell Suboctave
Swell Superoctave
Solo Suboctave
Solo Superoctave
4 Combination key touches to Great
3 Combination key touches to Choir
2 Combination key touches to Solo
4 Combination pedals to Great & Pedal
4 Combination pedals to Swell
4 Combination key touches to Swell
One balanced swell pedal for swell
One balanced swell pedal for Solo & Choir
Manuals CC to C 61 notes
Pedals CCC to F 30 notes